Chopped Ham and Apple Salad with Creamy Parmesan Dressing

choppedham&applesaladwcreamingparmdressing

I rarely enjoy blogging about salads because I feel that most times they are easy to create, or I do not enjoy all of the ingredients together. Surprisingly, I found this recipe a salad to talk about. The dressing was similar to blue cheese; the ham was a excellent note of something different; the apples created a crisp tartness to the overall dish. Together the ingredients create a fabulous dish that can be made within minutes. There were very few changes that I found necessary in this chopped ham and apple salad with creamy parmesan dressing–shocking
I know.

Here are a few tips to keep in mind:

  1. I used white wine vinegar; it provides a hint of acid and breaks the thickness of yogurt
    and mayonnaise.
  2. If you do not like mayonnaise, add yogurt in its place.
  3. Make the dressing before starting any of the chopping or cooking to allow the flavors
    to soak.
  4. The dressing will be thicker than normal ranches; it taste similar to a blue
    cheese dressing.
  5. I used prepackaged lettuce leaves: one with radicchio for crunch and color. Feel free to use whatever type of lettuce that you enjoy.
  6. I used two Fuji apples because they were smaller. Fuji apples are sweet and tart, adding an extra note to the dish.
  7. Radishes are zero calories and create an extra crunch to the salad. Also, they pizzazz the salad with color.
  8. I forgot the pecans, but they were unnecessary. There was already a surplus of crunch; however, the nuts pair well with the dressing.
  9. I like the note they suggested about toasting the nuts. Toasting your nuts allows for the nutty flavor to rise to the forefront and become fragrant.
  10. The ham steak was delicious probably because I rarely use ham. Cooking it stovetop begins to caramelize the outside of the steak and add a warm element to the dish.
  11. If eating the entire entrée at one sitting, I suggest mixing the ingredients in one huge bowl. If eating at separate times, keep the dressing separate because it will wilt the lettuce. The thickness makes it somewhat difficult to incorporate, so I just added dollops on my salad.

I like to be pleasantly surprised by a mix of ingredients, and the salad described follows that idea. A combination of sweet, tart, salty and blue I found the salad to be complimentary in many ways. Salads offer the greatest variety of ingredients without breaking down and having a feast at your table. For a salad, it was different and delicious.

Leave a comment with your favorite salad recipes. Follow my Pinterest for more recipes. Check back again next Wednesday for more tips and tricks from The Cooking Bug.

Leave a Reply

